Post by a425couple Post by a425couple Post by Martin Harran
On Mon, 6 Jul 2020 20:39:51 -0700, Alan Baker
Post by Alan Baker Post by Mark Post by a425couple Post by Mark
Given the relative speeds and road positions, I think the
only thing he
could have done was to back off before the corner (which was before
Albon was in the lead). By the time Albon was ahead, he was already
committed to that line.
So, right to be penalised, but I honestly can't see how he could have
given more space without a crystal ball or not being committed to
It does not take a "crystal ball" to know that someone
has gotten a run on you and has taken you.
(Also the fact they have been fairly competitive all day,
and are now on softs, and you are on hards, should be a hint).
To know he has a run doesn't take it, but to assume that he's past
(before he is - i.e. knowing where he'll break) and just give up is
something racers don't do in my experience.
Sorry, but Hamilton could SEE he was passING.
David Coulthard said that due to the particular nature of that corner,
a driver cannot see a car overtaking on his left at that point. As
Coulthard has acually driven the corner quite a few times, i think I
will take his opinion over yours.
Does Coulthard offer an opinion that Hamilton
should not have been given a penalty?
Post by Martin Harran Post by Alan Baker
All Hamilton had to do was ease off the accelerator and he could have
tightened his line to allow Albon the space he had earned.
It just seems to me, that 2 of us are experienced,
"FIA race director Michael Masi has given insight into the
stewards’ decision to penalise Lewis Hamilton for his late-race
collision with Alexander Albon. ----
While Masi does not rule on incidents himself, he can refer them
to stewards for their deliberation. He believes the positioning of
the cars at the time of contact prompted their decision to
“I think from what the stewards saw and having looked at it,
obviously Alex had some momentum around the outside,” he said.
“And the fact of the contact point, from what I’ve understood from
their explanation, from Lewis’s front-left to Alex’s rear-right,
was why they did not deem that a racing incident.
“They felt that Alex effectively was on the edge of the track,
give or take, and had completed the overtaking manoeuvre. So for
them, there wasn’t anything more to add, it was a quite simple
driving infringement for causing a collision.”
A few years ago I had similarly passed someone around
the outside, and I was right at the edge of the track,
when the other car came out from the apex and hit me.
He got a ticket / citation and fine.
It was clear to the Steward, when he saw the other cars
tire 'donuts' were to the rear of my wheels.
(He was a Formula C, I was in a Sports Racer.)
That ticket really irritated him, because I had suffered
no damage, but his car bounced accross and off track badly.
"...,give or take, ...." . Well that's hardly compelling.